And the highlight was…

After a few short trips out and about this summer, with varying photographic opportunities and successes, I think the highlight so far was definitely my surprise wildlife encounter in the Rockies.

My friend who works as a biologist for Jasper National Park took us up a ridge to wander along a grassy slope, with a gorgeous view of the next mountain range. We didn’t linger, but had to high-tail it back to the truck. On the way back down the road, we saw a shape up ahead on the road – a fox? coyote? As we got closer, my friend exclaims “look at the size of those paws! it’s a wolf pup!”.

The pup was caught on the far side of a creek, and was trying to catch up with her pack again. I managed a few quick shots (with shaking hands, adrenaline coursing through my veins), before she crossed the creek and disappeared into the woods.

I’ve seen a few wolves in my day – in the boreal forest of Alberta,  in the Yukon along the Alaska highway, and along the Icefields Parkway between Jasper and Banff. But to see a pup – what a rare and magical experience! And to have my camera at the ready – what luck!

A moment I will never forget, ever.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “And the highlight was…

  1. senatorbrett says:

    That is awesome! I am jealous. I once had a domesticated wolf and she was amazing. I don’t really like domesticating wolves, but this one was a rescue. I’m glad there are still places where wolves are free to be themselves.

    -SB

    http://senatorbrett.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/the-great-wolf-hunt-of-2012/

  2. […] From that fateful and fabulous morning in Jasper National Park, which brought much beauty, some madness, and one surreal experience. […]

Leave a Reply

