Contrast

My 100th post! How crazy is that. When I started this blog, it was for personal reasons – I was really hoping to get back into photography, and enjoy being creative once more. And you know what it? It worked. I carry the camera with me more often, I think about an image or post that I want to seek out, I am trying new techniques, and new subjects, and I feel a bit of responsibility towards my followers, which is both encouraging and motivating.

I thought for this milestone post I would show a bit of my process.

Here’s a beauty, captured at a local butterfly show.

This is what the image looked like before it underwent some tweaking in Picasa:

The original shot was taken with my point and shoot camera, in a rush,  in a cramped setting, without any time for composition, no macro lens, nothing fancy.

The patterning on it’s wings are lost with the centered composition, the green colour, the leafy distractions. So I cropped the image, and then converted it to black-and-white. I could have played with the shadows and highlights, but it didn’t feel necessary here.

I love it when the act of simplifying an image brings out the beauty of it’s subject. Don’t you agree?

Let’s raise a glass to all the beauty and learning and sharing there is to be had in photography, nature, life, and blogs. And here’s to another 100 posts!

Cheers!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

