From the Archives: Yellow Lady’s Slipper

I will not let this mid-April snowstorm get me down. I. WILL. NOT.

I just won’t look out the windows, I won’t step outside, I won’t think of the poor tulip tips, or the shivering song sparrows.

I will focus on spring, and be reminded of what’s to come.

watchingitallunfold_LadysSlipper

Taken in the boreal forest of Northern Manitoba, summer of 2006.

We were doing bird surveys in the Canadian shield, and the habitat was amazing – pine forests with moss underfoot, and huge exposed bedrock outcrops.
I found out I was pregnant with my first child the day before we headed out for a 3-month stint – I still have no idea how I hiked through the remote wilderness all day every day while in my first trimester. Must have been the little treasures like these glorious Yellow’s Lady Slippers that kept me going.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

