Crystals

With a fresh snowfall and bright sun beckoning, and a ‘why the heck not’ kinda mood, I made my first ever attempt at photographing a snowflake. I used the snow berm across the road from the house, and my 100 mm macro lens.

Granted, the contrast isn’t there, the plane of the snowflake wasn’t matching the plane of the camera, and the sun had already started to alter the detail in the flake, but, BUT, I can see individual crystals!

I think it’s not too shabby for a first try, considering my (usual) inability to manually focus properly, and my (usual) ineptitude at keeping a steady hand. If the conditions are right to try again, I think I just might go for round 2. Cheers to not being afraid of new challenges, and learning in the process!

watchingitallunfold_crystals

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

